Tap to Close  

 Tap to Close

The Decolonisation of the Science Curriculum

Date: 19 July 2017 18:30 - 19 July 2017 20:00
Location: Eden Grove Blue
Organiser: Ncebakazi Ntsokota (Phone 046 603 7515)
Event Type: Alumni


Professor Thebe Medupe

 Thebe Medupe

Professor Thebe Medupe is one of the foremost astronomers in South Africa and Africa. In 2002 he obtained his PhD in astrophysics from the University of Cape Town (UCT) –becoming one of South Africa's first black astronomers. His interest in astronomy was initially sparked by the passing of Halley's Comet, a large “dirty snowball” passing the earth on its orbit around the sun. After lecturing at UCT for five years, Medupe decided to return to Mafikeng to try to get more African students involved in astronomy through the National Astrophysics and Space Science Programme (NASSP). In 2002 Medupe was the presenter of the film Cosmic Africa, made by Craig and Damon Foster (makers of the award winning film The Great Dance).The film follows Medupe as he travels to different communities in Africa listening to their stories about the stars and sharing his scientific knowledge of the stars with them. Professor Medupe is currently a lecturer at North-West University and the head of the Timbuktu Science Project. The project's aim is to search for scientific knowledge in ancient manuscripts discovered in the ancient Malian city of Timbuktu.

Dr Setshaba Khanye

Setshaba Khanye

BSc, BSc Hons, MSc (Wits), PhD (UCT)

Lectures in General Chemistry and teaches Chemistry 1

(Electrochemistry, Inorganic and Environment Systems), Chemistry 2 (Inorganic Chemistry, Transition Metals Chemistry),Chemistry 3 (Bioinorganic and Organometallic Chemistry), Honours (Medicinal Chemistry Physicochemical properties in drug design)

Research Summary: The group research focus lies in the field of Bioinorganic and Medicinal Chemistry. The medicinal chemistry efforts are directed toward the causative agents of malaria, tuberculosis and trichomoniasis infections. The objective is to design

target–directed inhibitors of molecular chaperons (i.e. Heat Shock Proteins), cysteine proteases, topoisomerase II/IV.

Save to Google Calendar