Rhodes University Logo
Rhodes > Environment > Green Fun Run > 2016

RMR Makana Green Fun Run 2016

The seventh RMR Makana Green Fun Run was held on Sunday 1 May 2016. It was a little later in the year than usual, due to the very short first term at RU, and related logistical issues.

Funds raised at the event go towards greening Makana and helping make the town more sustainable. This year, the Makana Environmental Education Forum is the recipient of all Green Fun Run donations.

Indigenous trees, planted in honour of 19 winners, found their home at Ntsika Secondary School, in Extension 7, Grahamstown. On 17 May 2016, winners or their representatives had an opportunity to plant their symbolic prizes at Ntsika Secondary School. Congratulations to the winners:

1. Winner (first overall) & First Senior (18-39 yrs) Male: Masixole Xayiya 
2. Second (overall): Jay Fisher
3. Third (overall): Thoko Sipungu
4. First Female (overall) & First Senior Female: Terri-Lynn Penney 
5. First Peewee (up to 10 yrs) Female: Sinazo Bacela
6. First Peewee Male: Lihle Quntu
7. First Minimee (11-14 yrs) Female: Siyolisiwe Mankayi 
8. First Minimee Male (tie): Cee-Jay Porthen and Nathi Mini
9. First Junior (15-17 yrs) Female: Kesia van der Merwe
10. First Junior Male: Bulelani Mendile
11. First Veteran (40-49 yrs) Female: Dineo Matebese
12. First Veteran Male: Siviwe Gladman Moyake
13. First Masters (50+ yrs) Female: Lynne Marshall
14. First Masters Male: Ross Marriner
15. Best Outfit (outfit that best symbolises environmental sustainability): Walker Girls (Walker House)
16. Biggest RU Res Team (res with highest proportion of students participating): Amina Cachalia House
17. Biggest School Team: Ntaba Maria School 
18. School Providing Most Marshals: Kingswood College

The organisers also thank and acknowledge the many individuals and groups who helped made this event a success. Listed in alphabetical order:

Individuals, schools, businesses and organisations, including:

  • Albany Road residents (distribution of letters)
  • Albany Saints & Sinners Multisport Club (marshal bibs, flags & warning signs)
  • Alison Holleman (judging Best Outfit)
  • CrossFit Grahamstown (Simon van der Merwe - Fitzroy St water station)
  • Eco Bin Solutions (St John Ritchie & William Milne - recycling stations at water tables and at start/finish)
  • Grocott’s Mail (Drostdy Lawns water station; Makana Enviro News columns; publicity)
  • Green Home (Cape Town - biodegradable cups at subsidised price)
  • Kingswood College, (Dianne Price - Caldecott St water station)
  • Munya Handcrafts (community upcycled artwork) 
  • Oldenburgia Conservancy (Sylvia & Graeme Hjul - supply of spring water)
  • President’s Award scholars (Kingswood, St Andrews - marshalling)
  • Red Bull (Mohato - energy drinks for volunteers)
  • Steven Lang (continuity announcer)
  • St John Ambulance (Mario - emergency rescue service)
  • Umthathi Training Project (environmental awareness stall) 
  • WESSA (Margaret Crampton - environmental awareness stall)

Makana stakeholders, including:

  • Makana Corporate & Shared Services (event permission)
  • Makana Tourism (Sue Waugh - event logistics)
  • Makana Traffic Services (Clint Cassels - patrol vehicle)
  • SAPS (National & Makana - event permission)

Rhodes University stakeholders, including:

  • Campus Protection Unity (security)
  • Common Ground (student society – soil & spekboom distribution)
  • Communications and Advancement Division (publicity & materials)
  • Conference & Events Office (event logistics)
  • Electrical Section (Deon Evans - power supply)
  • Environmental Representatives (early registration, marshalling)
  • Dr Ingrid Schudel (registration logistics)
  • Dr Lausanne Olvitt (marshal sweeper)
  • Dr Nosiphiwe Ngqwala (judging Best Outfit)
  • Dr Roman Tandlich (event stats)
  • Drostdy Hall students (splendid food stall)
  • Grounds & Gardens (Drostdy Lawns & venue infrastructure)
  • Health Suite (Felix Munyai - early registration, writing on certificates) 
  • International Office (Melanie Mboya - country flags)
  • Ntsiki Mazwai (RMR continuity announcer) 
  • Philip Crous (indigenous trees)
  • Prof Fred Ellery (putting up banner)
  • Prof Hugo Nel (certificate presentation)
  • Prof Philip Machanick (marshal sweeper)
  • Rebecca Powell (coordination of marshals)
  • Rhodes Music Radio (official media partner, sound system, music)
  • Rhodes Restoration Research Group (Mike Powell - spekboom batons)
  • Shannon Herd-Hoare (coordination of marshals)
  • Statistics Dept students (event stats)
  • WildREACH (environmental awareness stall)

More info

Suggestions/Questions? Contact environment(at)ru.ac.za

Last Modified: Wed, 13 Jul 2016 16:36:54 SAST