Rhodes University Logo
Rhodes > Faculty of Humanities > Contact us

Contact Us

Faculty Office

Dean: Prof Tom Martin: dean.humanities@ru.ac.za 

Deputy Dean (Academic): Prof Mark de Vos: m.devos@ru.ac.za

Deputy Dean (Research): Prof Enocent Msindo: e.msindo@ru.ac.za

Faculty Officer: Karen Kouari: k.kouari@ru.ac.za

Phone: 046 603 8362    

Please note that due to busy schedules e-mail is the preferred method of communication for the Dean and Deputy Deans. Please copy k.kouari@ru.ac.za into all correspondence to ensure a timeous response.

All queries with regards to students and the faculty can be directed to Ms Karen Kouari preferably via e-mail.

 

DEPARTMENTS

Anthropology

HOD: Dr Michelle Cocks: m.cocks@ru.ac.za   

Admin: Des Bekker: d.bekker@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8231/8232

 

Drama

HOD: Dr Heike Gehring : h.gehring@ru.ac.za 

Admin: Vusiwe Mnyobe : v.mnyobe@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8538

 

English Literature

HOD: Prof Sue Marais: s.marais@ru.ac.za

Admin: Siphokazi Khanyile : s.khanyile@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8400/8401

 

English Language & Linguistics

HOD: Prof R. Simango : r.simango@ru.ac.za 

Admin: Nomvula Duku : n.duku@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8105

 

Fine Art

HOD: Prof Maureen de Jager: m.dejager@ru.ac.za

Admin: Moira Japp : moira.japp@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8192/8193

 

History

HOD: Prof Gary Baines : g.baines@ru.ac.za 

Admin: Essie Davis : a.davis@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8330

 

Music & Musicology

HOD: Prof Catherine Foxcroft: c.foxcroft@ru.ac.za

Admin: Denetha Peters: d.peters@ru.ac.za

Phone: 046 603 8489

 

Philosophy

HOD: Prof Marius Vermaak: m.vermaak@ru.ac.za

Admin: Cheron Duiker: c.duiker@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8351

 

Political & International Studies

HOD: Prof Paul Bischoff : p.bischoff@ru.ac.za

Acting HOD: Prof Sally Matthews s.matthews@ru.ac.za  

Admin: Lumka Mqingwana: l.mqingwana@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 603 8356

 

Psychology

HOD: Prof Charles Young: c.young@ru.ac.za

Admin Manager: Rika Ferreira: r.ferreira@ru.ac.za   

Secretary: Vuyo Kofi v.kofi@ru.ac.za   

Phone: 046 603 8500

 

Sociology

HOD: Prof Gilton Klerk: g.klerk@ru.ac.za

Admin: Juanita Fuller: j.fuller@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 603 8361

 

Journalism & Media Studies

HOD: Prof Larry Strelitz : l.strelitz@ru.ac.za 

Admin Manager: Belinda De Lange d.delange@ru.ac.za

Admin: Marissa van As: m.vanas@ru.ac.za

Phone: 046 603 7100

 

School of Languages and Literatures

HOD: Prof Patrice Mwepu: p.mwepu@ru.ac.za

Admin: Hannelie Rielly: h.rielly@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 603 8222

 

Extended Studies Unit

Judith Reynolds: j.reynolds@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 6038866

 

INSTITUTES

ILAM

Director: Prof Lee Watkins: l.watkins@ru.ac.za

Admin: Liezel Visagie: l.visagie@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 603 8557

 

ISER

Director: Prof Robbie van Niekerk: r.vanniekerk@ru.ac.za

Admin: Bulelani Mothlabane: b.mothlabane@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 603 8919

 

SOL PLAATJIE INSTITUTE

Director: Prof Francis Mdlongwa: f.mdlongwa@ru.ac.za

Admin: Wendy Dyibishe: w.dyibishe@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 603 8782

 

 

Last Modified: Fri, 16 Mar 2018 15:35:38 SAST