Rhodes University Logo
Rhodes > Faculty of Humanities > Contact us

Contact Us

Faculty Office

Dean: Prof Tom Martin: humanities@ru.ac.za 

Deputy Dean (Academic): Prof Mark de Vos: m.devos@ru.ac.za

Deputy Dean (Research): Prof Enocent Msindo: e.msindo@ru.ac.za

Faculty Officer: Karen Kouari: k.kouari@ru.ac.za

Phone: 046 603 8362    

Please note that due to busy schedules e-mail is the preferred method of communication for the Dean and Deputy Deans. Please copy k.kouari@ru.ac.za into all correspondence to ensure a timeous response.

All queries with regards to students and the faculty can be directed to Ms Karen Kouari preferably via e-mail.

 

DEPARTMENTS

Anthropology

HOD: Professor Michelle Cocks: m.cocks@ru.ac.za   

Admin: Des Bekker: d.bekker@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8231/8232

 

Drama

HOD: Dr Heike Gehring : h.gehring@ru.ac.za 

Admin: Vusiwe Mnyobe : v.mnyobe@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8538

 

English Literature

HOD: Professor Dirk Klopper: d.klopper@ru.ac.za  

 

Admin: Siphokazi Khanyile : s.khanyile@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8400/8401

 

English Language & Linguistics

HOD: Professor Ron Simango: r.simango@ru.ac.za  

Admin: Nomvula Duku : n.duku@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8105

 

Fine Art

HOD: Professor Maureen De Jager: m.dejager@ru.ac.za 

Admin: Moira Japp : moira.japp@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8192/8193

 

History

HOD: Professor Alan Kirkaldy : a.kirkaldy@ru.ac.za 

Admin:  Temp Secretary:  Xolisa Nontyi   x.nontyi@ru.ac.za

Phone: 046 603 8330

 

Music & Musicology

HOD: Professor Catherine Foxcroft: c.foxcroft@ru.ac.za 

Admin: Thabisa Twani : t.twani@ru.ac.za

Phone: 046 603 8489

 

Philosophy

Acting HOD: Mr Francis Williamson: f.williamson@ru.ac.za

Admin: Cheron Duiker: c.duiker@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8351

 

Political & International Studies

HOD: Professor Sally Matthews s.matthews@ru.ac.za  

Admin: Ms Polisa Mpoyula: p.mpotula@ru.ac.za 

Phone: 046 603 8356

 

Psychology

HOD: Professor Charles Young: c.young@ru.ac.za

Admin Manager: Rika Ferreira: r.ferreira@ru.ac.za   

Secretary: Vuyo Kofi v.kofi@ru.ac.za   

Phone: 046 603 8500

 

Sociology

HOD: Professor Gilton Klerk: g.klerk@ru.ac.za

Admin: Juanita Fuller: j.fuller@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 603 8361

 

Journalism & Media Studies

HOS: Professor Larry Strelitz : l.strelitz@ru.ac.za 

HOD: Professor Anthea Garman: a.garman@ru.ac.za 

Admin Manager: Belinda De Lange d.delange@ru.ac.za

Admin: Marissa van As: m.vanas@ru.ac.za

Phone: 046 603 7100

 

School of Languages and Literatures

HOS: Dr u Weber: u.weber@ru.ac.za 

Admin: Hannelie Rielly: h.rielly@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 603 8222

 

Extended Studies Unit

Judith Reynolds: j.reynolds@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 6038866

 

INSTITUTES

ILAM

Director: Prof Lee Watkins: l.watkins@ru.ac.za

Admin: Liezel Visagie: l.visagie@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 603 8557

 

ISER

Acting Director:  Professor Tom Martin t.martin@ru.ac.za

Admin: Bulelani Mothlabane: b.mothlabane@ru.ac.za  

Phone: 046 603 8919

 

SOL PLAATJIE INSTITUTE

Director: Prof Francis Mdlongwa: f.mdlongwa@ru.ac.za

Admin:  Sibonise Mbengashe s.mbengashe@ru.ac.za

Phone: 046 603 8782

 

 

Last Modified: Thu, 12 Sep 2019 16:20:56 SAST