Rhodes University Logo

About Rhodes

Rhodes University is situated in Grahamstown, in the Eastern Cape province of South Africa. It attracts students from all over Southern Africa including Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, Swaziland, Kenya, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. A number of students hail from Australia, Canada, England, South America, Italy, the USA and Germany.

Rhodes is a small university of approximately 7000 students, with many students housed in the 42 residences on campus. Individual tuition in small tutorial groups, facilitated by our relatively small numbers, is a cornerstone of the Rhodes approach to quality education. As a result of the small intimate campus, all conference venues (lecture theatres, dining halls, residences and function venues) are within easy walking distance of one another (no more than 5 – 10 minutes). A car is not generally required once in Grahamstown.

The University has six faculties with the Humanities Faculty being the largest faculty. Rhodes’ wealth of language resources, both teaching and research related, is one of its main features.
Rhodes University also has several affiliate museums in Grahamstown, including the Albany Museum and the Observatory Museum, the home of one of only two Victorian cameras obscura in the world.

Rhodes University’s vision is to be an outstanding internationally-respected academic institution which proudly affirms its African identity and which is committed to democratic ideals, academic freedom, rigorous scholarship, sound moral values and social responsibility.

For more information, visit the University’s main webpage.

Last Modified: Fri, 15 Jul 2011 14:59:08 SAST