Rhodes University Logo
Rhodes > Safety > Committees > Membership

Health and Safety Committee Membership

In accordance with the Occupational Health and Safety Act (1993), Rhodes University has a Health and Safety Committee (membership below) which meets on a regular basis. 

RU also has six (6) sub-committees (see membership below & meeting dates) - to accommodate the diversity of working environments on campus. They report into the main Health and Safety Committee. More info: RU Safety, Health & Environmental Officer: ext 7205 or safety(at)ru.ac.za

Purpose: the purpose of health & safety committee meetings with the employer is to initiate develop, promote, maintain and review measures to ensure employees’ health and safety. View an extract from the OHS Act regarding the Committees.

Membership of Health & Safety Sub-committees:

  1. Housekeeping - Chair: Mr Anton Kivitts; Deputy: Ms Noluthando Fall; committee members: H&S reps in Housekeeping, CCS. Meeting dates.

  2. Food Services - Chair: Mr Xolani Dyokomba; Deputy: Mr Lwazi Nesi; committee members: H&S reps in Food Services, kitchens. Meeting dates

  3. Maintenance - Chair: Mr Jan Nell; Deputy: Mr Barry Hartley; committee members: H&S reps in maintenance sections, grounds, workshop workplaces. Meeting dates.

  4. Office - Chair: Ms Christine Lewis; Deputy: t.b.a.; committee members: H&S reps in office workplaces. Meeting dates.

  5. Laboratory - Chair: Ms Andrea King; Deputy: Mr Siyabonga Dyaloyi; committee members: H&S reps in science /laboratory workplaces, chemical stores. Meeting dates.

  6. Wardens - Representatives Ms Janine Harris or Ms Engela Tyson; committee members: Board of Residences (Chaired by Director of Student Affairs). Meeting dates.

Membership of the main Health & Safety Committee includes:

  • Chair Vice-Chancellor Nominee - Ms Sue Smailes

  • Executive Director: Infrastructure, Finance & Operations or Nominee - Mr Dawie van Dyk

  • GMR 2 Appointee / Machinery supervisor - Mr Eugene Engelbrecht 

  • Dean elected by Deans Forum or Nominee - Dr Sagaran Abboo

  • Director of Human Resources or Nominee - Mr Cecil Peters

  • Manager of Campus Protection Unit - Mr Towers Naidu

  • ERM Manager - vacant

  • SHE Officer - Ms Nikki Kohly

  • NEHAWU Representative or Alternate - t.b.a.

  • NTEU Representative or Alternate - Mr Siya Daloyi

  • Wardens Representative or Alternate - Ms Janine Harris

  • Food Services Sub-Committee Chair or Deputy

  • Housekeeping Sub-Committee Chair or Deputy

  • Laboratory Sub-Committee Chair or Deputy

  • Maintenance Sub-Committee Chair or Deputy

  • Office Sub-Committee Chair or Deputy

  • SRC Representative - SRC Benefits Councillor  Ms Bamanyi Saki

  • Co-opted: Prof Sunitha Srinivas 

(up to 2 persons may be co-opted by the Chairperson after consultation with the Committee)

Secretariat: Ms Rita Ferreira, rita.ferreira(at)ru.ac.za (Ms Sherilize Jewell on leave until July), Committee / Administrative Office, Registrar’s Division, RU ext 8943, s.jewell(at)ru.ac.za

Venue for Main Health & Safety Committee Meetings: RU Council Chamber.

2017 Meeting Dates  (RU Diary: add this feed to your Google calendar): 

  • Wednesday 22 March at 11h00

  • Wednesday 17 May at 11h00

  • Wednesday 11 August at 11h00

  • Wednesday 18 October at 11h00


Go to the Rhodes University Safety front page. Questions/Suggestions? Contact safety(at)ru.ac.za

Searching for additional info? Use the Search function at the top of the page.

Last Modified :Mon, 23 Oct 2017 08:07:41 SAST