Old Rhodian Union

Old Rhodian Union

Rhodes>Alumni Relations v6>Old Rhodian Union


The Old Rhodian Union was founded in 1911 by Professor Cullen Bowles and Sir George Cory to form a link between past and present students and staff of Rhodes University. All past students who have attended Rhodes University or Rhodes University College for at least a year, all members of Convocation (see below), past and present Chancellors, University Council members and all past and present members of staff, including members of Associated Institutes are automatically members of the Old Rhodian Union. There is no subscription for membership. The Old Rhodian Union annual general meeting is held at the University as close as possible to every Founders' Day (28 August) together with the annual meeting of Convocation.

The Committee of the Union shall consist of the President, the Vice-President, the Honorary Secretary, the Honorary Treasurer, the Vice-Chancellor, the President of Convocation, the Registrar, the Director of Communication and Advancement, and four other members of the Union elected annually, of whom at least two members shall be members of Convocation.

2020/2021 ORU Committee: President: Prof Rod Walker, Vice-President: Dr James Gambiza, Hon Secretary: Ms Sharon Tweddle , Hon Treasurer: Mr John Gillam, Committee Members:   Mr Luyanda Bheyile, Ms Nicola Hayes, Ms Sharon Tweddle and Ms Tlamelo Mothudi. Administration assistance is provided by the Alumni Relations Office:  Communications and Advancement.


Last Modified: Fri, 10 Dec 2021 16:01:32 SAST