Announcing our CE 2019 Awards Finalists

2018 Gold Award Recipients with Dr Mabizela
2018 Gold Award Recipients with Dr Mabizela

The Community Engagement Division is very excited to announce the FINALISTS for the 2019 Community Engagement AwardsThe Gala Dinner and Awards evening will take place on the Wednesday 2nd October where the category winners will be announced by the DVC, Dr Monnapula-Mapesela. The guest speaker on the evening will be Mr Alan Magubane, a Rhodian and current Vice Head of St John College. Please join us in celebrating the commitment, passion and dedication displayed by the individuals and groups listed as they have gone about their important work over the past year.    

Student Researcher of the Year Finalists

  • Samuel Motitsoe (Faculty of Science)
  • Nosiseko Mtati (Faculty of Education)
  • The Sustainable Land Management Group:  Buhle Francis, Monde Duma & Menelisi Falayi (Faculty of Science)

Gold Awards for Excellence in Community Engagement (Top 10)

  • Sibusiso Klaas
  • Claire McCann
  • Uthandile Samela
  • Samantha Ncula
  • Lukhanyiso Cezula
  • Sive Vena
  • Mandilakhe Valela
  • Megan Harris
  • Sanele Ngubo
  • Asakhe Cuntsulana

Residence/Hall of the Year Finalists

  • Prince Alfred & Allan Gray Residences (Res Warden: Tlamelo Mothudi, Catherine Parkinson)
  • St Mary’s Hall (Hall Warden: Thato Tantsi)
  • Nelson Mandela Hall (Hall Warden: Mr Jonathan Hellerman)

Community Partner of the Year Finalists

  • Inkululeko
  • Awarenet
  • CM Vellem Health Promoting Primary School

 Society/Sports Club of the Year:

  • Sailing and Kite Surfing Club
  • Enactus 
  • Canoe Club
  • Sudo Society

CONGRATULATIONS! Thank you for your commitment to our community – we celebrate with you!

Source:  Community Engagement Directorate

Please help us to raise funds so that we can give all our students a chance to access online teaching and learning. Covid-19 has disrupted our students' education.  Don't let the digital divide put their future at risk. Visit to donate