Joan Metelerkamp


Joan Metelerkamp is the author of seven books of poems, the last four of which are poem sequences or book-length poems. Recently she wrote a lengthy essay on South African poetry since 1990 for a French publication. ‘This process’ she writes ‘threw up many questions about the place and purpose of poetry, made me rethink the how and why of poetry. Having given up on why I am moving back to the minutiae of how.’ She has been reading recent work by American poets Campbell McGrath, Louise Gluck, C.D.Wright, and Jean Valentine.

Towing The Line (Carrefour, 1992) (poetry)
Stone No More (Gecko,1995) (poetry)
Into the day breaking (Gecko, 2000) (poetry)
Floating Islands (Mokoro, 2001) (poetry)
Requiem (Deep South, 2003) (poetry)
Carrying the fire (substancebooks, 2005) (poetry)
Burnt Offering (Modjaji, 2009) (poetry)
Now the World Takes These Breaths (Modjaji Books, 2014)

Last Modified: Sun, 14 Sep 2014 21:03:44 SAST