New Coin 4  

New Coin Poetry

 New Coin is a prestigious South African poetry journal which was founded in 1965 by Guy Butler and Ruth Harnett. It is published twice a year by the Institute for the Study of English in Africa (ISEA) at Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa.

 For 2014-2016, New Coin will be edited by Gary Cummiskey will work with an editorial board made up of the four poets who teach on the Rhodes MA in Creative Writing course: Mxolisi Nyezwa, Brian Walter, Joan Metelerkamp and Robert Berold – the last two of whom have edited New Coin in the past. Read more



 Tyhini is an annual magazine featuring work produced by students and staff of the Rhodes University MA in creative writing course.

 Taking its name from a Xhosa exclamation of astonishment, disbelief, sometimes skepticism, Tyhini is published in English, Afrikaans and isiXhosa. Each issue features short stories, personal meditations and essays, poetry and excerpts from debut novels. Read more





Last Modified: Tue, 26 Aug 2014 11:40:17 SAST