New Coin Poetry

New Coin is a prestigious South African poetry journal which was founded in 1965 by Guy Butler and Ruth Harnett. It is published twice a year by the Institute for the Study of English in Africa (ISEA) at Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa.

 For 2014-2016, New Coin will be edited by Gary Cummiskey will work with an editorial board made up of the four poets who teach on the Rhodes MA in Creative Writing course: Mxolisi Nyezwa, Brian Walter, Joan Metelerkamp and Robert Berold – the last two of whom have edited New Coin in the past.

Current Issue

New Coin Volume 50, June 2014

New Coin 2014

‌The 50th Volume of New Coin contains poems by Kelwyn Sole, Alan Finlay, Kobus Moolman, Sinclair Beiles, Lucas Zulu, Arja Salafranca, Moira Lovell, Eva Jackson, Dawn Garisch, Goodenough Mashego, Kyle Allan, Haidee Kruger, Yannis Livadas, Gerard Rudolf, Khulile Nxumalo, Mangaliso Buzani, Mxolisi Nyezwa, Immanuel Suttner, Hans Pienaar, Catfish McDaris, Anton Krueger, Diana Bloem, John Carse, Mick Raubenheimer, Louise Anne Buchler, Lionel Murcott, Gail Dendy, Jim Pascual Agustin, Angifi Dladla, Carol Leff, Mzi Mahola, Allan Kolski Horwitz, Vonani Bila and Stephen Symons. Reviews by Kelwyn Sole, Rustum Kozain and Tlhalo Sam Raditlhalo.

 Click here for back issues


Subscription for 2014 is R170 for two issues.
You can also subscribe now for the two 2015 issues, for R180.
For subscription details, contact New Coin secretary Nomangesi Kelemi on 046 603 8565 or isea[at]



 Up to six unpublished English poems. Electronic submissions preferred, to be emailed to

Last Modified: Thu, 30 Jul 2015 11:24:33 SAST