Rhodes University Logo
Rhodes > Latest News > 2013

Old Rhodian pharmacist serves community

Date Released: Tue, 16 July 2013 09:59 +0200

Rhodes University Alumna, Ms Lynda Bryant-Mutsaerts has scooped the National Pioneer Pharmacy Facility of the Year 2013 award, for her sterling community pharmacy work, at the South African Pharmacy Council’s National Pioneer Pharmacy Awards held at Sun City Superbowl recently.

“It is a real honour and a lovely humbling surprise – it is great to be acknowledged for all we do in the community,” she says.

“For me, it is a great achievement for our team as we are just a small community pharmacy – it boosts morale, it creates enthusiasm and motivation and shows the team that there is recognition for all that they give of themselves to people.”

According to Ms Bryant-Mutsaerts she worked in different parts of pharmacy and she fell in love with community pharmacy.

“I love community pharmacy because it combines business as well as stimulating my science mind. I really enjoy working with people, adding value to their lives and making a difference to the staff and patients. I love the business side of pharmacy, managing the cash flow and seeing the rewards of hard work,” she says. 

National Road Pharmacy has been serving the community of Kloof in Kwa-Zulu Natal for over 50 years. It is a well- known entity in the area and an asset to the community. It is a family pharmacy where generations from the same family are patients and known to all the staff.

It has long opening hours and has a full- time primary healthcare clinic. It delivers a personal, professional service, and one of its innovative initiatives has been the establishment of a breast milk bank.

The pharmacy contributes towards security and the charities in its operational area, and the staff benefit from ongoing training and development. All of this ensures that National Road Pharmacy continues to grow from strength to strength.

She qualified as a pharmacist from Rhodes University in 2000 and won several awards such as  Nedbank Professional Businesswoman of the Year both regionally and nationally in 2008 and 2009.

She was selected the SAPC Pharmacist of the Year in 2009 in recognition of her contribution to both business and pharmacy. 

From l-r: Lynda Bryant-Mutsaerts, South African Pharmacy Council’s (SAPC) Registrar Amos Masonga and SAPC President Bada Pharasi.

Photo supplied.