Rhodes University Logo
Dr Peter Clayton: Deputy Vice-Chancellor; Research & Development
Rhodes > Latest News

Fifty-seven Rhodes graduate staff honoured

Date Released: Thu, 7 June 2018 15:50 +0200

The Rhodes University Thomas Alty and Vice-Chancellor’s Awards were held on 6 June to celebrate a total of 57 staff members who recently obtained academic qualifications while in the service of the University.

A Thomas Alty Award is made to a member of staff who is awarded a Masters or PhD degree (or equivalent qualification), while a Vice-Chancellor’s Award is made to a member of staff who is awarded a bachelor or Honours degree or a recognised professional qualification, and Matric or NQF level 1 (Grade 9) qualification.

According to the statistics, a total of 57 staff members recently graduated - 47 of them in academia and 10 from the support staff division. Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research & Development, Dr Peter Clayton, took great pride in announcing that a total of 12 academic staff members had achieved their PhDs this year, indicating remarkable postgraduate supervision.

This year’s Alty and Vice-Chancellor’s Award winners are:

Mr Alexander Anthony Szczawinski - HDAC (Accounting Department)

Mr Edward Bennet Horn - MCOM (Accounting Department)

Prof Jacqueline Anne Arendse - PhD (Accounting Department)

Dr Janet Mary Hayward - PhD (Anthropology Department)

Ms Margaret Nabatanzi – MSC (Biochemistry & Microbiology Department)

Dr David Kyle Brown - PhD (Biochemistry & Microbiology Department)

Dr Vuyani Moses – PhD (Biochemistry & Microbiology Department)

Mrs Lindisa Ruth Nombewu - PGDH (Centre for Social Development)

Mr Stones Dalitso Chindipha - MSC with distinction (CHERTL)

Miss Nomfundo Penelope Siqwede - PDEM (CHERTL)

Dr Sharli Paphitis - CATALyst Certificate (Community Engagement)

Ms Benita Bobo - CATALyst Certificate (Community Engagement)

Dr Dane Lesley Brown - PhD (Computer Science Department)

Dr Yusuf Moosa Motara - PhD (Computer Science Department)

Ms Xoli Mbuyephi - PDEM (Conference Office)

Dr Wilbert Kadye - CATALyst Certificate with distinction (Department of Ichthyology & Fisheries Science)

Dr Warren Potts - CATALyst Assessor Certificate with distinction (Department of Ichthyology & Fisheries Science)

Mr Paul Eilers - LLBC (Department of Law)

Mr Tsukudu Moroeng - LLBC (Department of Law)

Dr Uchenna Okeja - CATALyst Certificate (Department of Philosophy)

Dr Isabelle Garisch - CATALyst Certificate (Department of Statistics)

Mr Richard Slater - BAH (Dictionary Unit)

Ms Veronica Israel - MSS with distinction (Division of Student Affairs)

Mr Juniours Marire - PGDHE with distinction (Economics Department)

Mrs Zisanda Sanda – PDEM (Education Department)

Dr Sally?Ann Robertson - PhD (Education Department)

Dr Farhana Amod Kajee - PhD (Education Department)

Ms Tracy Probert - CATALyst Certificate (English Language and Linguistics)

Ms Aletta De Vos - CATALyst Assessor Certificate (Environmental Science)

Ms Sinenhlanhla Memela - CATALyst Certificate (Geography Department)

Ms Philippa Irvine - CATALyst Certificate (Geography Department)

Ms Brenda Meyer - BAH (Hall Administrator)

Mrs Carol Elaine Cuthbert - MBA (Infrastructure & Operations)

Mr Abraham Volmick - National Certificate (Infrastructure & Operations)

Miss Aphiwe Madlavu - PDEM (Infrastructure & Operations)

Miss Ntombekhaya Sade Mgaba - MSC (Institute for Water Research)

Mr Paul Wessel - CATALyst Certificate (ISEA)

Dr Rethabile Rejoice Mawela - PhD (ISEA)

Mr Kyle Shane Prinsloo - BJRN with distinction (Journalism and Media Studies)

Ms Anima McBrown - BJRN with distinction (Journalism and Media Studies)

Prof Lynette Steenveld - CATALyst Assessor Certificate with distinction (Journalism and Media Studies)

Ms Dinah Arnott - PGDHE with distinction (Journalism and Media Studies)

Dr Alette Schoon - PhD (Journalism and Media Studies)

Ms Sinsiswa Gule - BHLIS (Library)

Mr Mbuleli Mpokela - HDAC (Library)

Dr Catherine Eve McLean - PhD (Mathematics Department)

Ms Denetha Peters - BCOM (Music and Musicology)

Mr Dino Giovannoni CATALyst Certificate with distinction (Physics and Electronics Department)

Dr Sally Joanne Matthews - PGDHE with distinction (Political and International Studies)

Ms Carol Dineo Diale - CATALyst Certificate (Psychology Department)

Dr Gary Steele - PhD (Psychology Department)

Miss S'lindile Amanda Mngomezulu - LLBC (Rhodes University Law Clinic)

Mrs Fezeka Felicia Nobongoza?Mkhwane - MED (RUMEP)

Mrs Shuying Fu - BED?H (School Of Languages)

Miss Natasha Engelbrecht - PGDHE with distinction (School Of Languages)

Mr Matlou Mashao - HDAC (Accounting Department)

Ms Takudzwa Saburi - HDAC (Accounting Department)

The Thomas Alty and Vice-Chancellor’s Awards are made to encourage staff to complete a further degree or professional qualification. And true to the unofficial Rhodes #SiyaGradaMntase mantra, Rhodes staff members are dedicating themselves to actively becoming better qualified for work excellence.