RU Maths Experience 2013

On Friday 15 February the second Rhodes University Mathematics Experience was held.  375 learners from almost every high school in the Grahamstown Education District gathered at the Barratt Lecture Theatre complex for an afternoon of ‘serious fun’ mathematics. The first hour was occupied by a mathematics competition of twenty questions requiring ‘out of the box’ rather than conventional thinking. This was followed by a talk by Dr Mike Mhlolo of the FRF Mathematics Education Chair who entertained and inspired the learners while the teachers marked the papers.  The afternoon ended with Prof Makaiko Chithambo, Deputy Dean of Science at Rhodes, awarding the prizes which included three full scholarships for study at Rhodes generously provided by the Dean of Science.

RUMEThe event, which is fast gaining a reputation in mathematics education circles (it is being replicated at centres throughout the country) was organised by a group of enthusiastic Rhodes academics and local teachers who feel that the mathematical talent of local learners needs to be stimulated. This is in line with recent policy shifts which have identified the need to improve the quality of the mathematics education in our schools. The event was sponsored by the South African Mathematics Foundation, the Department of Science and Technology, Rhodes University and the FRF Mathematics Education Chair.

At the closing ceremony, the chair of the organising committee, Mr Andrew Stevens, explained that one of the main purposes of the event is to identify hidden talent amongst local learners and to continue to develop this talent through a structured programme in the coming months as part of the ‘Siyanqoba’ initiative of the SA Mathematics Foundation. He remarked that the International Mathematics Olympiad would be hosted by South Africa for the very first time in 2014 and hoped that some of the learners present might be in the team! 

Top learners in each of the participating schools:            

Alexandria High School:  Riquelina Plaatjies 
Diocesan School for Girls: Emma van Vuuren 
Graeme College: Asher Pearse
Ikamva Lesizwe Public School: Nandipha Plaatjie
Khutliso Daniels Secondary School: Cecilia Scheepers
Kingswood College: Louise Poole 
Kuyasa Combined School:  Ntomboxolo Gunyiswa
Mary Waters Secondary School: Nomathamsanqa Zono
Nombulelo Secondary School: Nokuthula Tshete
Nompucuko Combined School: Sakhekile Makhinza
Nomzamo Secondary School: Aphiwe    Sonanzi
Ntsika Secondary School: Lutho Singata  
Port Alfred High School: Joshua Austin
St Andrew’s College: Nicholas Kroon
TEM Mrwetyana Secondary School: Lerato Maganca     
Velile Secondary School: Siphosethu Budaza
Victoria Girls High School: Sanelisiwe Tyibiliko


Last Modified: Mon, 05 Aug 2013 12:50:27 SAST