Rhodes University Mathematics Experience 2014

‌On Friday 21 February 2014 the third annual ‘Rhodes University Mathematics Experience’ took place in the Barratt Lecture complex of Rhodes University. Around 270 learners from almost every school in the Grahamstown District spent an afternoon solving mathematics problems and engaging in ‘serious fun’. The afternoon kicked off with a 20-Question maths competition requiring ‘out of the box’ rather than conventional thinking. This was followed by a talk by Dr Martin Weigt from the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University who entertained and inspired the learners while the teachers marked the papers.  The afternoon ended with a prize giving ceremony in which Dr Ken Ngcoza and Prof Ric Bernard, Dean of Science at Rhodes, awarded the prizes which included three full scholarships for study at Rhodes. A prestigious new prize this year was the award of a trip to the SANSA Space Science facility in Hermanus. 
RUME winners 2014

The event, which is fast gaining a reputation in mathematics education circles (it is being replicated at centres throughout the country) was organised by a group of enthusiastic Rhodes academics and local teachers who feel that the mathematical talent of local learners needs to be stimulated. This is in line with recent policy shifts which have identified the need to improve the quality of the mathematics education in our schools. The event was wholly sponsored by Rhodes University this year, with logistical support from the FRF Mathematics Chair.
At the closing ceremony, the chair of the organising committee, Mr Andrew Stevens, explained that one of the main purposes of the event is to identify hidden talent amongst local learners and to continue to develop this talent through a structured programme in the coming months as part of the ‘Siyanqoba’ initiative of the SA Mathematics Foundation. 
Results of the 2014 RU Mathematics Experience competition are as follows:
Grade 7- 8:          

1st     Sebastian Paton          St Andrew’s College 
2nd     Sally-Anne Allsop        Diocesan School for Girls 
3rd    Daniel Erasmus            St Andrew’s College         
Grades 9 & 10       

Tie 1st    Nicholas Kroon         St Andrew’s College
              Teigan Zoutendyk     Diocesan School for Girls   

Tie2nd    Nick Murray              St Andrew’s College
              Kai Mason                St Andrew’s College
Grades 11 & 12       

1st     Timothy Mountford        St Andrew’s College
2nd    Benjamin Stijkel            St Andrew’s College
3rd    Nicholas Wilkinson        St Andrew’s College

Rhodes Bursary prizes: Benjamin Stijkel, Nicholas Wilkinson, Sarah Purchase.

SANSA Prize: Imivuyo Ranuga (Mary Waters), Ntombizanele Booi (TEM Mrwetyana).

Top learners in each of the participating schools:

Alexandria High School  Riquelina Plaatjies
Archie Mbolekwa Sandisiwe Selunathi
Diocesan School for Girls Teigan Zoutendyk
Graeme College  Asher Pearse
Graeme Primary Lutya Mhlali 
Ikamva Lesizwe Public School Tariro Sithole and Nokuthula Sineli
Khutliso Daniels Secondary School Athenkosi Mtana
Kingswood Junior Tariq Rouhani 
Mary Waters Secondary School VuyolwethuZumani
Nathaniel Nyaluza  Asikelewe Nakele
Nompucuko Combined School Malibongwe Mamba and Gmanda Xhaliphi
Ntaba Maria Siyabulele Sandi   
Ntsika Secondary School Sikelela Nxumalo 
St Andrew’s College Nicholas Kroon
TEM Mrwetyana Ntombizanele Booi
Velile Secondary School Sinazo Raco
Victoria Girls High School Sumaiya Vawda
Victoria Primary Emma Roch

For further information about the event, please contact the Chairman of the organising committee, Mr Andrew Stevens of the Education Department, Rhodes University. Telephone 046 603 8610 or  e-mail on A.Stevens@ru.ac.za

Last Modified: Wed, 02 Apr 2014 10:51:26 SAST