Investec Rhodes Top 100 celebrates 10 years at awards ceremony

Some of the Investec Rhodes Top 100 winners
Some of the Investec Rhodes Top 100 winners

Boniswa Matiwane, Postgraduate in Media Management student


Investec Rhodes Top 100 recently celebrated its 10th-year anniversary with a night of inspiration, hope and honour.

Investec Rhodes Top 100 is a collaboration between Investec Corporate Social Investment (CSI) and Rhodes University, which recognises and reward 100 students who show excellence in academics and sport, achievements in leadership, outstanding performance as well as extraordinary contributions to the community and cultural sphere of the University.

At the celebration, Investec South Africa’s Head of CSI Setlogane Manchidi gave an inspiration speech in context of the current issues plaguing the country. “We as the people of the Nation are the ones that ought to bring about the change – and the time is now.”

Manchidi also highlighted the importance of passion: "You can be a leader in music, poetry, cooking, or politics. You can be a leader in whatever makes you come alive. There are too many people that are half dead."

He urged members of the audience to think intentionally about what “all hands on deck” means, after which he exclaimed ‘Thuma Mina!’ to encourage prize winners to leave a lasting legacy.

The ceremony awarded students in commerce and finance, community engagement, arts, culture, media and society, and sports, before renowned social media influencer Cassandra Twala gave her speech.

Twala, with her versatile and extensive profile, is also Investec’s Brand Manager. Twala spoke to the students about self-definition, which she believes should encompass three key areas, namely courage, passion and curiosity. “Besides this, you should always remain compassionate and have humanity. Remember, we are all broken in some way.”

Next up was Benita Bobo, Coordinator for Volunteerism and Service-Learning at Rhodes University’s Community Engagement and a previous Investec Top 100 Awards recipient herself. Bobo reflected on her experience as an award recipient and how this award spearheaded a legacy of recognition in her career. Since receiving the Invested Rhodes Top 100 Award in 2015, Bobo has received a Student leadership and Community Engagement award, been named one of Africa’s 100 ‘Bright Minds’, and this year, Bobo  was recognised as one of 100 South African Stars for the National Youth Development Agency and as one of the 100 Young Mandelas of the Future.

She said, “I believe none of this would have been possible without receiving my Investec Award in 2015, as it inspired me to let my passion drive me to greater heights.” She urged award recipients to use their inner flame to light up the spaces that they occupy and to actively inspire change.

Towards the end of the evening, Student Services Manager Veronica Israel and SRC Advisor Eric Ofei, expressed their gratitude to Investec for the long-standing historical relationship it has with the University.


Investec Rhodes Top 100 winners for 2019 are:


Student Leadership Awards

Pumla Myeni

Unathi Mabukane

Mpumelelo Methula

Nkateko Nkanyane

Sesonasipho Yedwa

Kopano Mokoena

Siyabonga Malaza

Dzanga Matibe

Darren Wolhuter

Hlengiwe Mlambo

Zuko Ntlakaza

Ayanda Dube

Gamuchirai Kutukwa

Tebogo Molatlhegi

Amina Asma

Ralph Zizi

Theodore Duxbury

Kwanele Siyengo

Nicole Mamphey

Natasha Kapepula

Lindiwe Tsope

Katlego Mphahlele

Asakhe Cuntsulana

Lindokuhle Nene

Hunadi Sefoka

David Haimbodi


Samkelo Mngadi

Phumelele Nkomozake

Khaka Mpofu

Bulelani Mvengenya

Zikhona Mtwa

Katleho Motooane



General Excellence Awards

Bradley Kent

Jenna Cook

Jessie Ditshego

Keanen-Troy Johnson

Kgothatso Lekala

Megan Reid

Paul Eilers

Tshwanelo Mabelane

Ubenathi Sisusa

Wezizwe Ginindza

Akhona Matiso

Arnold Saungwene

David Willima

Emma Parlabean

Wisdom Moyo

Kudzaishe Chingono

Lisolethu Dlova



Community Engagement Awards

Avuma Ndlole

Lebogang Nkambule

Lian May

Lukhanyiso Cezula

Mandilakhe Valela

Precious Mfeka

Sibusiso Klaas

Thomas Kruger

Wezizwe Ginindza

Ubenathi Sisusa

Yolanda Muza



Commerce and Finance Awards

Jenna Cook

Lineo Fumanisa

Nikitha Patel

Rutendo Nyoni

Thabiso Ramalope



Arts, Culture, Media and Societies Awards

Emma Parlabean

Julian Yeates

Mmatumisang Motsisi

Noluthando Sibisi

Sboniso Thombeni

Siphumelele Dyakophu

Zimkhitha Kweza

Sports Awards

Khakha Mpofu

Katlego Mphahlele

Jonathan Benjamin

James Marriner

Murray Smith

Viwe Makeleni

Karabo Mavuso



Academic Awards


Chilala Chicha

Kenneth Chiridza

Elizabeth Charumbira

Zintle Nonqayi



Siphosethu Matebese

Jeremy de Beer

Christopher Tobaiwa

Daudi Banda



Anele Sibanda

Tinovimba Gore

Tasmeera Kader

Danielle Fourie



Jonathan Gouws

Tawonga Chilundo

Urisha Naidoo

Matthew Lewis



Nike Francis Mes

Laura-Jean Runchman

Josie Anne Makkink

Claire Mary Mccann