Distinguished Professors

Rhodes University recognizes academic staff of outstanding scholarly reputation and productivity, who have brought great distinction to the university through their academic work at Rhodes. The recognition takes the form of a Distinguished Professor academic rank, with a higher remuneration scale than the standard Professor scale. This rank was first introduced in 2011 with the first appointments taking place from 1 January 2012.

Rhodes University is proud to announce that the following staff are Distinguished Professors:

  • Professor Christopher McQuaid

More details of Professor McQuaid can be found at the following website:


  • Professor Tebello Nyokong

More details of Professor Nyokong can be found at the following website:


The protocol that governs the nomination and appointment of these professors is available below.

Protocol for Appointment of Distinguished Professors

Last Modified: Mon, 26 Jan 2015 10:12:31 SAST