Permanent Staff

Click the staff member's name to learn more about them:

Prof Catherine Foxcroft - Head of Department, Associate Professor Classical Piano and Music Psychology:046 603 84912, c.foxcroft@ru.ac.za 

Prof Jeffrey Brukman - Associate Professor, Music Theory: 046 603 7262, j.brukman@ru.ac.za

Dr Lee Watkins - Senior Lecturer, Ethnomusicology & Director: ILAM: 046 603 8761, l.watkins@ru.ac.za

Ms Daniela Heunis - Senior Lecturer, Flute: 046 603 7259, d.heunis@ru.ac.za

Dr Boudina McConnachie - Lecturer, Ethnomusicology: 046 603 7299, b.mcconnachie@ru.ac.za

Dr William Fourie - Lecturer, Musicology: 046 603 7260, w.fourie@ru.ac.za

Ms Corinne Cooper - Junior Lecturer, Sound Technology: 046 603 7257, c.cooper@ru.ac.za

Ms Jo-Nette Le Kay - Junior Lecturer, Classical Voice: 046 603 7261, j.lekay@ru.ac.za

Mrs Nolwakhe Yvonne Sewelo - NGap Lecturer: n.sewelo@ru.ac.za

Dr Nishlyn Ramanna - Research Associate, Jazz Studies n.ramanna@ru.ac.za

Part Time Staff

Mr Garreth Robertson - Vocal accompanist/Ensemble coach

Mr JF Viljoen - Violin/Accompanist

Mr David Bester - Violin

Ms Mariechen Meyer - String ensemble/Double bass

Mr Alexander Fokkens - Conducting

Mr Kutlwano Kepadisa - RUCC conductor

Mr Marco Maritz - Brass/Jazz theory and composition

Mr Christopher Thorpe - Drumkit /Jazz band

Ms Ulagh WilliamsJazz Voice

Ms Jenny BrandClarinet

Ms Marni van der Westhuizen - Oboe/Bassoon

Mr Dumisa Mphupha - African Ensemble/Ethnomusicology

Mr David Fuller - Guitar

Mr Kwazi Mkula - Cello

Mr Devon Florence - Classical Voice

Mr Njabulo Mthimkhulu - Classical Voice


Rhodes Department of Music and Musicology offers tuition in the following instruments: clarinet, double bass, drums, french horn, flute, piano, violin, oboe, basoon and classical and jazz voice.

Support Staff

Ms Ilana Kretzmann - Assistant Librarian: 046 603 8492, i.kretzmann@ru.ac.za

Ms Vusiwe Mnyobe - Administrator: 046 603 8489, v.mnyobe@ru.ac.za

Mrs Thamie Magopeni - Cleaner/Messenger

Last Modified: Tue, 22 Jun 2021 21:44:57 SAST