Rhodes>Nelson Mandela>Mandela Hall Shield

Mandela Hall Shield

The Nelson Mandela Hall Shield is a competition amongst the residences within the hall. The Shield has been adapted over the years to encompass various activities as requested by the students.

In its present format the shield takes into account the following criteria:

  • The June academic results (pass rate in each residence);
  • A cultural day (consisting of a choir performance, quiz, and a cultural piece all relating to the theme of the evening);
  • A sports day (comprising of various fun activities, such as tug-of-war, baseball, mini soccer, table tennis, etc);
  • Inter-Res sports results (university sports competition played through out the year between all the residences on campus, compromising of most of the sports codes on campus);
  • And lastly a fun relay


Winners of the Mandela Hall Shield

2014 - Adelaide Tambo & Guy Butler House

2011 - Adelaide Tambo House

2010 - Guy Butler House

2009 - Helen Joseph & Stanley Kidd

2008 - Adelaide Tambo & Guy Butler

2007 - Helen Joseph/Adelaide Tambo & Victoria Mxenge & Centenary

2006 - Helen Joseph/Adelaide Tambo & Stanley Kidd

2005 - Helen Joseph & Stanley Kidd

2004 - Helen Joseph & Stanley Kidd

Last Modified: Fri, 19 May 2017 08:49:10 SAST

Rhodes>Nelson Mandela>Mandela Hall Shield

2014 - Stanley Kidd House

Last Modified: Tue, 17 Oct 2017 15:51:14 SAST

Rhodes>Nelson Mandela>Mandela Hall Shield

2015 - Stanley Kidd House


Last Modified: Wed, 02 Aug 2017 12:35:02 SAST