President Jacob Zuma Congratulates Prof. Nyokong On Winning a Continental Scientific Award

President Jacob Zuma has congratulated distinguished South African scientist Prof. Tebello Nyokong, following her winning on 30 January 2016 of the African Union (AU) Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award at the ongoing Summit of Heads of State and Government of the AU meeting in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The AU Kwame Nkrumah Awards are given annually to African scientists who have distinguished themselves in the fields of science, technology and innovation. Through the awards, the AU seeks to acknowledge the importance of science and technology in the development of the continent.

President Zuma said: "It is through investment in science and technology that African governments will nourish the potential of our people and find home-grown solutions to the many socio-economic and developmental challenges facing our continent."

President Zuma further said: "The AU acknowledges that Africa's most important resources are her people. South Africa will continue to invest in the fields of science and technology, skills development and support innovation."

Prof. Nyokong is Distinguished Professor at Rhodes University and director of the Nanotechnology and Innovation Centre (NIC), a national science facility established by the Department of Science and Technology in 2007.

Amongst other things, the NIC's work includes research and development in various scientific fields, aimed at driving South Africa's transformation from a resource-based economy towards a knowledge-based economy using nanotechnology.

Prof Nyokong is also a recipient of the national Order of Mapungubwe in Bronze, awarded in 2004 for her contributions in the field of science

Picture: Tamani Chithambo