Question: What is the objective of the African Water Resource Mobility Network (AWARMN) Academic Mobility Scheme?

The objective of the programme is to promote sustainable development and poverty alleviation by increasing the availability of trained and qualified high-level professionals in Africa. The programme aims to strengthen co-operation between higher education institutions in Africa with the view of increasing access to quality education that will encourage and enable African students to undertake postgraduate studies, and to promote student retention in the region along with mobility of staff (academic and administrative) while increasing competitiveness and attractiveness of the institutions themselves. More specifically the programme aims to:
(a) provide access to higher education for students including those from disadvantaged groups;
(b) facilitate cooperation on recognition of studies and qualifications;
(c) contribute to the improvement of the quality of higher education through the promotion of internationalisation, and harmonisation of programmes and curricula within participating institutions;
(d) enhance the international cooperation capacity of Higher Education Institutions in African countries;
(e) promote cooperation between sending and host institutions;
(f) enable students, academics and staff to benefit linguistically, culturally and professionally from the experience gained in the context of mobility to another country;
(g) enhance, in the medium-term, the political, cultural, educational and economic links between the participating countries.

Question: Between which Higher Education Institutions will co-operation and mobility of students take place?

Eligible Countries
Regions of Africa Countries

Central: Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Congo (DRC),
Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and São Tomé and Principe

Eastern: Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda,
Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Uganda and Tanzania

Northern: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Tunisia and Morocco

Southern: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa,
Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe

Western: Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo

Question: Which important considerations should be considered in deciding on my host institution?
•    Ensure that you are familiar with the language of tuition at the host institution.
•    Carefully consider the identified programmes and areas of excellence in each partner institution.
•    Ensure that you have the necessary academic background in terms of study areas/degrees before you apply.
•    Be aware of the real cost of living at each partner institution and analyse it, considering the monthly subsistence of the scholarship.
•    Consider the need to adapt to different cultural realities and the different climate conditions.

Question: Which partners constitute the Consortium of the African Water Resources Mobility Network?

•    Rhodes University, South Africa
•    Federal University of Technology, Minna, Nigeria
•    Makerere University, Uganda
•    University of Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
•    Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Hydrauilique, Algeria
•    TU Delft, The Netherlands (Technical partner)

Question: What does each partner institution undertake to do?

•    Monitor the individual academic progress of scholarship holders registered at their institution.
•    Provide the co-ordinating institution with reports from each scholarship holder every six months in the case of master’s students and every year in the case of PhD students.
•    Ensure gender-balance (with particular emphasis on the selection of women), equal opportunities and the participation of disadvantaged groups (disabled students, economically disadvantaged students) in the selection process.

Last Modified: Fri, 25 Mar 2022 09:22:21 SAST