Vice-Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching awards 2015

At Senate on Friday 20th November, the winners of the 2015 Distinguished Teaching Awards were announced as follows:

Senior Distinguished Teaching Award

Professor Catherine Foxcroft, Department of Music & Musicology


Distinguished Teaching Award (shared for 2015)

Dr Jennifer Williams, Department of Physics and Electronics

Ms Tanya Poole, Department of Fine Art


Candidates for the awards are nominated (usually by students) and are judged by a panel of peers. The award processes involve observation of teaching, the submission of a portfolio and an in-depth interview with the panel evaluating candidates for each Award.  The University community offers warm congratulations to their colleagues who have received the Awards. Recognition in this way is a tremendous achievement in respect of this very valuable area of academic work. The University benefits from the work of many, many excellent teachers as panels judging the awards would attest from their experience of observing classes, reading portfolios and engaging with candidates in interviews. The Awards will be presented at the 2016 Graduation Ceremonies.  Award winners will then be invited to give a public lecture on their work in 2016.