Rhodes University Senate

The Principal and Vice-Chancellor (Chairperson)
Prof SG Mabizela
The Deputy VC: Academic and Student Affairs
Prof M Monnapula-Mapesela
The Deputy VC: Research and Innovation
Prof PG Clayton
The Registrar (Secretary)
Prof Dr AL Moodly


EM Stack
JL Jonas
RB Walker
CI Macleod
RA Dorrington
CM Shackleton
MH Villet
L Wilbraham
PW Froneman
D Thorburn
PJ Britz
MJ Marais
W Sauer
DC Klopper
CG Palmer
MH Graven
RWM Krause
M Schafer
WN Ellery
BI Pletschke
LD Vincent
JL Limson
BS Ripley
R Simbao
PA Tabensky
S McKenna
SR Simango
A Garman
S Flowerday
N Pearse
H Kaiser
S Naidu
W Potts
AO Tastan-Bishop
C Grant
BU Okeja
KN Ngcoza
JA Coetzee
J Gambiza
GB Glover
EH van Coller
C Young
C Foxcroft
J Prinsloo
R Krüger
T Martin
L van der Walt

Distinguished Professors

M Hill
H Lotz-Sisika
C Macleod
T Nyokong

Deans of Faculties

Commerce, Prof DA Sewry
Education, Prof E Rosenberg
Law, Prof L Juma
Humanities, Prof E Msindo
Science, Porf AJ Booth
Pharmacy, Prof SMM Khamanga

Deputy Deans 

Commerce, Prof L Louw
Education, Prof N Mpofu
Humanities, Prof M de Jager and Prof P Mwepu
Law, Prof H van Coller
Pharmacy, Dr C Oltmann
Science, Prof J Dames and Prof Y Motara

Head of Departments

Mr E Horn
Prof M Dold
Biochemistry and Microbiology
Prof H Hoppe
Biotechnology Innovation
Dr E Prinsloo
Prof C Peter
Business School
Prof FO Skae
Centre for Higher Education Research, Teaching
and Learning
Prof J-A Vorster
Prof R Klein
Classical Studies
Mr D Malamis
Computer Science
Prof G Wells
Dr H Gehring
Economics and Economics History
Prof J Snowball
Prof C Grant
Secondary, Post-School Education
Dr K Jawahar
Primary and Early Childhood
Dr L Westaway
Environmental Science
Prof G Thondhlana
Fine Art
Prof M de Jager
Prof I Meiklejohn
Prof AJ Booth 
Prof A Kirkaldy
Human Kinetics and Ergonomics
Dr S Wells (Zschernack)
Ichthyology and Fisheries Science
Prof C Jones
Information Systems
Prof G Foster
Journalism & Media Studies
Prof A Garman
Prof L Juma
Linguistics and Applied Language Studies
Prof R Simango
Literary Studies in English
Prof L Spencer
Mr T Amos
Mathematics (Pure and Applied)
Dr E Adriantiana
Music & Musicology
Dr B McConnachie
Prof S Khamanga
Prof UB Okeja
Physics and Electronics
Prof M Chithambo
Political and International Studies
Prof S Magadla
Prof L Jacobs
School of JMS
Dr J du Toit
School of Languages
Prof U Weber
School of Languages and Literature
Dr B Nosilela
Prof G Klerck
Mr J Baxter
Zoology and Entomology
Prof N Richoux

In attedance

Chief Financial Officer: Mr R Riga
Director: Communications and Advancement: Mr L Jacobs
Director: Communit Engagement: Ms D Hornby
Director: Equity and Institutional Culture: Vacant
Director: Finance: Mr G Erasmus
Director: Human Resources: Ms S Robertson
Director: Information and Technology Services: Ms N Ripley
Director: Institutional Research Planning and Quality Promotions: Dr R Nnadozie
Director: Office of the Vice-Chancellor: Ms S Smailes
Director: Student Affairs: Ms N Mrwetyana
Council Rep: Dr N Tisani
Council Rep: Mr S Ntlabezo

Directors, Research, Institutes and Units Representatives

Albany Museum: Mr M Vabaza
Centre for Social Development
: Ms F Gunzo
Dictionary Unit for South African English
: Mr T van Niekerk
Institute of Social and Economic Research
: Prof C Mbatha
Institute for the Study of English in Africa
: Prof M Mbelani
International Library of African Music
: Dr L Watkins
Amazwi (previously National English Literary Museum)
: Ms BA Thomas
South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity
: Dr A Paterson
EBRU (Eviromental Biotech Rhodes University)
: Prof K Cowan
RUMEP (Rhodes University Mathematics Education Project)
: Ms F Nobongoza-Mkhwane

Academic Representatives

Mr E Knoesen
Ms L Greyling
Advocate S Rahim
Dr A Childs
Prof N Oosthuizen


Mr T Ngindana - NEHAWU
Ms D Bekker - NTEU

Students’ Representative Council

Mr B Modisaotsile, President
Ms T Hlako, Vice-President
Ms N Mnkandla, Secretary-General
Mr N Mkhulisa, Treasurer-General
Ms Vuyelwa Moyo, Postrgraduate Affairs


Last Modified: Wed, 20 Jul 2022 15:30:10 SAST