SARChI Chair - Professor Catriona Macleod

Catriona Ida Macleod is Distinguished Professor of Psychology and SARChI chair of Critical Studies in Sexualities and Reproduction at Rhodes University, South Africa. She has written extensively in national and international journals in relation to teenage pregnancy, abortion, sexuality education, pregnancy support, reproductive decision-making, sexual violence, youth sexualities, and contraception. She is author of the multi-award winning book ‘Adolescence’, pregnancy and abortion published by Routledge in 2011, co-author (with Tracy Morison) of the book Men’s pathways to parenthood, published by HSRC Press, 2015, lead editor of The Palgrave Handbook of Ethics in Critical Research, published by Palgrave, 2018, and co-author (with Pedro Pinto) of the book A Genealogy of Puberty Science, published by Routledge, 2019. 

She is editor-in-chief of the international journal Feminism & Psychology, and has written several technical reports and policy briefs. Her work has informed the South African National Adolescent Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights Strategy Framework, and the National Abortion Guidelines. Her research has been taken up in interventions regarding alcohol use during pregnancy, abortion counselling and sexuality education. She has presented her work in multiple international forums, including to members of the House of Representatives, Congress and Senate in Washington DC. She is the recipient of the VC’s Distinguished Senior Research Award (2015), the VC’s Community Engagement Award (2015), the Social Change award (2017), and South African Women in Science Award (2019). 

CSSR Staff 

Dr Ulandi du Plessis (Project Manager and Senior Researcher)

Ms Yanela Ndabula (Research Assistant)

Dr Tracey Feltham-King (Lecturer)

Ms Nqobile Msomi (Lecturer)

 Research Associates

Dr Malvern Chiweshe

Dr Jacqueline Marx

Dr Pedro Pinto

Dr Ingrid Lynch

Dr Tracy Morison

Dr Dale Moodley

Collaborators within Rhodes University

Werner Bohmke (Psychology)

Lindsay Kelland (AGCLE)

Professor Charles Young (Psychology)

Professor Lisa Saville Young (Psychology)

Collaborators outside Rhodes University

Dr Rose Capdevila (The Open University)

Professor Jeanne Marecek (Swarthmore College)

Dr Meredith Manze (CUNY)

Dr Antonella Lavelenet (WHO)

CSSR PhD students

Sibonginkosi Mpofu

Kudzai Marise

Sithembele Xhegwana

Kudzanayi Mvududu

Yolisa Bomela

Yamini Kalyanaraman

Megaera Jones

Sarah-Ann Moore

Agnes Sanyangore

Yanela Ndabula

Cassandra Robertson

Kim Barker

Angie Vorster

Gerrit Maritz

CSSR MA Students

Zizipho Ludidi

Chanelle Descroizilles

Donica Walton

Bulelwa Faya

Thobile Mthethwa

Megan Reuvers

Laurah Mogonong

Mihlali Simukandla

Pieter Bredenkamp


Last Modified: Thu, 10 Sep 2020 09:24:49 SAST