Faculty of Law Opening Function 2020

Rhodes>Law>Latest News

Judge Chetty and Professor Rosaan Kruger
Judge Chetty and Professor Rosaan Kruger

The Rhodes University Faculty of Law held its annual Faculty Opening Function on 17 February 2020. The special guest for this year was the honourable Judge Chetty, who inspired the students with reflections from his years of studying and practising law. The event ended with an awards ceremony held in honour of the students who excelled academically in 2019. Congratulations to all who received a Dean’s Merit Award and a special congratulations to the following awardees:

1. Siphesihle Mhlahlo

  • Best student in Legal Theory 1 - Baker and McKenzie Prize 

2. Tembelani Ncube

  • Best aggregated results across Legal Theory 1 & 2 - Adams and Adams Prize
  • Best student in Legal Theory 2 - Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr Prize

3. Tshireletso Tlholoe

  • Best student is the Law of Contract - Legal Theory 3 - Alastair Kerr Prize
  • Black South African registered for Legal Theory 3 Theory who obtains the highest academic results - Baker and McKenzie Prize 

4. Francis Makkink

  • Best student in Legal Theory 3 - Spilkin Prize

5. Tonthozo Saukila

  • Moot winner in the Penultimate Year - LexisNexis Book Prize

6. Keegan Williamson

  • Best student in Company Law - Fred Cooper Prize
  • Best penultimate year student in Corporate Law - Bowman Gilfillan Prize
  • Best student in Legal Skills - Phatshoane Henney Inc Prize 

7. Varaidzo Paradza

  • Best penultimate student - Grant and Marjorie McKerron Scholarship
  • Best female student in penultimate LLB year - Shirley Ritchie Prize

8. Asandra Ogle

  • Best black South African LLB student in the penultimate year - Baker and McKenzie Prize