Sinoxolo Xhanti won the best student presentation award at SAMS2022


Students Math Prizes Winners

Every year Rhodes University awards four Math prizes to students: 

- The David Williams Memorial Prize in Pure Mathematics was endowed by Old Rhodians and other friends of Professor D Williams (Professor Mathematics 1911-31). It is awarded to the student who obtains the highest mark in the third year examination, provided that a sufficient degree of distinction is attained.
-  The Helmut Weigert Memorial Prize has been endowed by Professor J Smuts in memory of the late Dr Helmut Weigert, who was a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Mathematics for a number of years. It is awarded annually on the recommendation of the Head of the Department of Pure and Applied Mathematics on the results of the Mathematics I examinations.
- The Joe King Mathematics Prize  is awarded to a third year student for the Most Improved Performance in Mathematics.
- The Sydney Cruise Memorial Prize has been endowed by Mrs E Cruise in memory of her late husband, Professor S.E. Cruise, who was a Professor Pure Mathematics at Rhodes University from 1961 to 1965. It is awarded on the basis of the second year examination results in Mathematics.

David Williams Memorial Prize: To be updated

Helmut Weigert Memorial Prize: To be updated

Joe King Mathematics Prize: To be updated

Sydney Cruise Memorial Prize: To be updated


David Williams Memorial Prize: Jonathan Gouws

Helmut Weigert Memorial Prize: Bongamusa Tsabedze

Joe King Mathematics Prize: Hlwitana Ntomboxolo

Sydney Cruise Memorial Prize: Abongile Booi



Staff Awards


Dr Atemkeng won the Kambule Doctoral Award.


Last Modified: Wed, 18 Jan 2023 15:42:24 SAST